Tuesday, November 4, 2008

Directors and Advisers of FAIR

FAIR's board members include Nancy S. Anthony (Chairman), Sharon Barnes, Edith Blodgett, Henry M. Buhl, Major General Douglas E. Caton, Donald A. Collins, Pat Choate, Sarah G. Epstein, Stephen B. Swensrud, Roy Porter, John Tanton, Alan Weeden.
Among those board members who are affiliated with population control, immigration policy, or family planning organizations are Sharon Barnes, a FAIR founding member and longtime population control activist; Donald Collins, who serves on the board of directors of the Population Institute, Family Health International, and International Projects Assistance Services: Sarah Epstein, who sits on the boards of Pathfinder International, Planned Parenthood of Metropolitan Washington, Center for Development and Population Activities, and Population Institute, and John Tanton, who founded FAIR and is a principal in several anti-immigration groups, including Center for Immigration Studies and NumbersUSA.
In addition to its board of directors, FAIR counts on a national advisory board. Its cochairs are Richard Lamm, former Colorado governor, and Cong. Brian Bilbray (R-CA), who is also the chair of the House Immigration Reform Caucus.
Prominent members include Fred Ikle, Peter Nunez, Bruce Reid, Henry Luce III, and Curtis Winsor, Jr. Former Sen. Eugene McCarty (deceased) was also a supporter of FAIR and a member of its advisory board. FAIR has drawn from its advisory board for help establishing its front groups and affiliates.
FAIR receives money from the Sidney A. Swensrud Endowment Fund, Swensrud Memorial Internship Fund, Border Security Fund, Cornerstone Contributors, Seventh Generation Society, and FAIR Gift Memberships. Swensrud, who died in 1996, was one of the founders of FAIR. According to MediaTransparency, FAIR received $3.5 million in 40 grants from right-wing and conservative foundations from 1986 to 2006. Major foundation support came from the Scaife Family Foundation, Sarah Scaife Foundation, Smith Richardson Foundation, John M. Olin Foundation, and Carthage Foundation.
Photo: Brian Bilbray

No comments: